South Australia


South Australia was established as a separate British colony in 1836. Prior to that it was considered part of New South Wales. The Act establishing the new colony -

...acknowledged Aboriginal ownership and stated that no actions could be undertaken that would affect the rights of any Aboriginal natives of the said province to the actual occupation and enjoyment in their own persons or in the persons of their descendants of any land therein now actually occupied or enjoyed by such natives. Although the patent guaranteed land rights under force of law for the indigenous inhabitants it was ignored by the South Australian Company authorities and squatters.1

South Australian Locations

The following South Australian locations are mentioned on this site:

The following codes are used for South Australian districts (the Adelaide Proformat website has a comprehensive "District Registrars of Births, Deaths & Marriages in South Australia" page, and a "South Australian Places and their BDM District (1991)" page).

Code District
Ade Adelaide
Ang Angaston
Bar Barossa
BaW Barossa West
Bur Burra
Cla Clare
Cra Crawford
Dal Daly
EnB Encounter Bay
Fli Flinders
Fro Frome
Gil Gilbert
Gre Grey
Code District
Hig Highercombe
Hin Hindmarsh
Kap Kapunda
KI Kangaroo Island
MoV Morphett Vale
MPE Munno Para East
MPW Munno Para West
MtB Mount Barker
Nai Nairne
Nor Norwood
Onk Onkaparinga
Pal Palmerston
Pin Pinnaroo
Code District
Pir Pirie
PtA Port Adelaide
PtG Port Gawler
Rob Robe
Str Strathalbyn
Tal Talunga
TMu The Murray
UpW Upper Wakefield
Wel Wellington
Wil Willunga
Yan Yankalilla
Yat Yatala

South Australian Hotels

The following South Australian Hotels are discussed on this site:


South Australian Shipping

The following ships mentioned on this site were bound for South Australia:

South Australian Resources