Thus Dr. James Ross in his "Hobart Town Almanack" of 1830:-
"After leaving the Lower Settlement of Pittwater (now Forcett) the road passes through a forest, growing out of a poor sandy soil, for about three miles, until we arrive at the beautiful settlement called the Carlton. There are several good farms on the banks of the river, belonging to Mr. McGuinness and Mr. Quinton. Near the ford, at nine miles from the Lower Ferry, and 10 miles from the mouth of the Carlton, where the river becomes fresh, is the farm of Lieutenant Steele, the resident magistrate of the district. The Carlton River received its name many years ago, from having been discovered by the boats belonging to a whaling ship called by that name. It has a bar at its entrance, which can only be passed by small coasting vessels. Inside of the bar the water becomes deep, and the river is in parts half a mile in width, presenting the most romantic scenery along its banks. Here are also many rich beds of oyster shells, which are burned for lime, and brought to Hobart Town. These and the large produce of wheat from this fertile part of the country give employment to numerous small vessels."
From "Tasmanian Nomenclature" : -
"Carlton River was named the River Brue by Baudin in 1802, after, one of the officers, and received its present name from Flinders in his 1814 chart. Arrowsmith 1842) gave it both names, while modern maps use Carlton River only."
Walch's "Tasmanian Guide Book" of 1871 has these interesting notes:-
"A village, consisting only of a few scattered dwellings on the banks of the Carlton River, is known as Carlton, and has an Independent chapel, and a school under the Board of Education. The Carlton River, rising near Gordon's Sugar-loaf, flows through an extensive and fertile track of country and much picturesque scenery. Mount Pleasant, or the Sugar-loaf, near Carlton, accessible either on foot or horseback, is an excellent spot for enjoying the surrounding charming prospects, and from Gordon's Sugar-loaf, named after the late Mr. Gordon, one of the earliest settlers in the district, a view is obtained scarcely to be surpassed in beauty. The above-mentioned hills, the many excellent sea beaches in the neighbourhood, also the islands of the bay, and Medway Point, are much frequented by pleasure parties. The name of Roaring Beach, given to that near the Carlton Bluff, might, with equal propriety, be bestowed on many others, where the waves of the South Pacific surge with unbroken force and almost unceasing roar. The forest vegetation of the district is that common to most of the colony: gum trees of various kinds, including stringy-bark, and peppermint, black and silver wattles, and she-oak. Fine lightwoods and musk are found in some of the gullies, as also beautiful ferns and mosses. The bays abound with fish-flounders, trumpeter, mullet, native salmon, rock cod, and flathead. Oysters also are very plentiful, as many as 360,000 having been obtained from the Carlton beds and sent to Hobart during 1869."
Carlton is mainly an agricultural and pastoral district, very little fruit of any sort being grown there. Long connected with its history and progress may be mentioned the names of Steele, Thorne, McGuinness. Joseph, Newberry, etc. Two routes may be taken by the traveller in reaching Carlton - along the coast by way of Dodge's Ferry Road, and two miles further on, on the Sorell Port Arthur main road, turning off in both cases to the right. The first turn off is just before entering Forcett township, and the other just as you commence descending the hill after passing through Forcett. In both instances the journey may be continued from Carlton along a picturesque coast line to Dunalley. The more interesting route is the former, the only drawback being a number of gates across the road. A wooden bridge spans the Carlton River near Carlton House. 1